Past Recipients | 2007 Awards | 2006 Awards|image

2008 History & Innovation Awards

A special thank you to our Underwriters, Sponsors, Benefactors, & Friends.

Awards Co-Chairs: Daniel Smith, Sue O'Connell, and Ralph Martin

Co-chairs (l-r) Daniel Smith, Sue O'Connell, and Ralph Martin hosted an incredible evening honoring the 2008 History & Innovation Award winners. Nearly 400 people gathered to recognize social, health & technology, environmental, and healthcare innovations, as well as a special Lifetime Achievement Award.

Social Innovation

Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders (GLAD), MassEquality, Mass Gay & Lesbian Political Caucus, Freedom to Marry Coalition, and ACLU

For their role in establishing and protecting Marriage Equality in Massachusetts - the 1st state to do so.


Governor Deval Patrick presented the Social Innovation Award to the coalition of organizations that helped establish Marriage Equality in Massachusetts.


Terry McGuire (center), Co-founder and Managing General Partner of Polaris Venture Partners presented the Innovation in Health and Technology Award to Dr. Robert Langer and Dr. Judah Folkman's widow, Mrs. Paula Folkman.


Innovation in Health & Technology
Dr. Robert Langer & the late Judah Folkman, M.D. 

For collaborating on new technologies which redefined the fight against cancer.   A modern-day Watson & Bell team, Folkman discovered drug therapies that could cure cancer and Langer engineered drug-releasing polymers through which these therapies could be administered.

Innovation in Healthcare
Dr. Marie Zakrzewska, Dr. Susan Dimock, & The Dimock Center:

For establishing one of the first hospitals run by women for women, the first nursing school in the nation, and for staying innovative as a model for contemporary urban health care.

Dr. Paula Johnson (rt), chief of the Division of Women's Health at Brigham and Women's Hospital presented Ruth Ellen Fitch, President and CEO of The Dimock Center with the Innovation in Healthcare Award.

Environmental Innovation
Charles Eliot and The Trustees of Reservations:

For establishing the first Statewide/Regional Land Trust in the world in 1891.  It has served as the model and inspiration for land trusts throughout the world beginning with the National Trust of the United Kingdom and remains a pioneering force behind the environmental movement today.

Mayor Thomas Menino presented Andy Kendall,
President of The Trustees of Reservations,
with the award for Environmental Innovation.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Mary Smoyer

For her decades-long dedication to putting a spotlight on women's history in Greater Boston & leading the coalition to create and sustain the Boston Women's Heritage Trail.

Ralph C. Martin,
Managing Partner, Bingham McCutchen
Sue O'Connell,
Co-Publisher, Bay Windows
Daniel L. Smith,
President, Integrated Defense Systems-Raytheon

2008 History & Innovation Judging Committee:
Desh Deshpande
, 2007 Award Winner
Steven Grossman,
Grossman Marketing Group
Paul Gray ,
MIT President Emeritus
Sheriff Andrea Cabral,
Suffolk County
Jill Ker Conway
Pres. Emeritus, Smith College; Board Member, Boston Museum
Janice Bourque,
Collaborative Board Chair; Comerica Bank


To view more pictures of the 2008 Awards dinner, visit our photographer's website:



For more information, contact:

Boston History & Innovation Collaborative

650 Beacon Street, Suite 403

Boston, MA 02215

Tel: (617) 350-0358

Fax: (617)350-0357